Best Nootropics 2026: 5 Cognitive Formulas Ranked by

Five nootropic supplements, Gaia Herbs PRO, Thesis Starter Kit, Infinite Focus RX, PPO Lab Brain‑Fx, and EC Sports Brain Boost, each take a different approach to the cognitive supplement category. One uses herbal adaptogens. One lets you swap blends by task. One is a two-ingredient capsule. We stripped the labels and ranked them by ingredient count, dose transparency, and what is actually printed on the panel.

Disclosure: This article contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases at no extra cost to you. Health & Safety: This content is for general informational and educational purposes only and is not medical advice. It is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease or health condition. These products are dietary supplements. The information here is based on ingredient label analysis and does not constitute a recommendation for any specific individual. Consult a qualified healthcare professional before starting any new supplement.
Important: This article analyzes product labels, ingredient lists, and manufacturing information. Statements about ingredients are based on generally available nutritional reference data. This article makes no claims about what any product will do inside the body. No statements herein have been evaluated by the FDA. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. Individual responses to dietary supplements vary.

Gaia Herbs PRO Nootropic Focus: The Herbal Formula

Gaia Herbs PRO Nootropic Focus bottle, a clean herbal nootropic formula
Gaia Herbs PRO Nootropic Focus: a multi-herb formula with Rhodiola, Ashwagandha, Bacopa, and Huperzine A. No synthetic stimulants on the label.

Gaia Herbs PRO Nootropic Focus is a vegetable glycerin-based liquid extract containing Rhodiola rosea, Ashwagandha, Bacopa monnieri, and Huperzine A in a single bottle. The label lists four active herbal ingredients. No caffeine. No synthetic stimulants. No artificial sweeteners or colors. The delivery format is a liquid dropper rather than a capsule, which some users prefer for dose adjustability. The formula uses full-spectrum herbal extracts rather than isolated compounds. For a deeper dive on Rhodiola specifically, see our Bronson Rhodiola Rosea review.

  • Ingredient List: Rhodiola rosea root extract, Ashwagandha root extract, Bacopa monnieri whole herb extract, Huperzine A (from Huperzia serrata). The label does not disclose individual extract ratios or standardization percentages for every herb, which makes per-ingredient dose comparison against standalone products difficult.
  • Format: Liquid extract in a vegetable glycerin base. Dropper bottle. No capsules. No tablets.
  • Stimulant Status: Caffeine-free. No synthetic stimulants on the label. This is a non-stimulant formula by ingredient panel. For a stimulant comparison, see our stimulant pre-workout review.
  • Who Manufactures It: Gaia Herbs, a North Carolina-based supplement company with in-house organic farming and extraction facilities. The brand emphasizes herb sourcing transparency and publishes lot-level testing for some products.

The Herbal Tea vs. The Espresso Shot Analogy

Gaia Herbs PRO is a cup of herbal tea. Infinite Focus RX is a double espresso. Both are beverages. Both come from plants. The experience of drinking them is not remotely similar. One is a liquid dropper with four herbs. The other is a capsule with stimulants and cholinergic compounds. Pick the format and intensity that matches your preference. The label tells you which is which.

Thesis Starter Kit: The Multi-Blend System

Thesis Starter Kit box with four distinct nootropic blend packets
Thesis Starter Kit: four individually named blends (Clarity, Logic, Energy, Motivation) in a single box. Each blend has a different ingredient panel.

Thesis Starter Kit is a four-blend sample box containing Clarity, Logic, Energy, and Motivation packets, each with a different ingredient matrix printed on the individual label. Total capsule count and per-packet ingredient lists vary by blend. The Clarity blend includes Alpha-GPC and L-Theanine. The Energy blend includes Dynamine and Caffeine. The Logic blend and Motivation blend have their own distinct panels. The kit is sold as a trial product. Thesis sells full-size bottles of individual blends after the starter kit. For a comparable multi-blend approach in the mushroom space, see Genius Mushrooms vs Alpha Brain.

  • Ingredient Count Per Blend: Each packet lists between 5 and 10 ingredients depending on the blend. Individual ingredient doses are disclosed on the packet labels. No proprietary blends.
  • Format: Individual daily packets with capsules inside. Four blends in one box. Designed as a sampler. Not a single daily pill.
  • Stimulant Status: Blends vary. Energy contains caffeine and Dynamine. Clarity is stimulant-free by label. The box includes both stimulant and non-stimulant options.
  • Who Manufactures It: Thesis, a New York-based nootropics company. The brand positions itself around personalization and offers a questionnaire before purchase to recommend specific blends. For another brain formula approach, see our Onnit Alpha Brain review.

Maximum Slim Infinite Focus RX: The Stimulant Formula

Maximum Slim Infinite Focus RX bottle, a high-stimulant nootropic supplement
Infinite Focus RX: a capsule formula containing DMHA, Caffeine, and Alpha-GPC. High stimulant content per label.

Maximum Slim Infinite Focus RX is a capsule-based formula containing DMHA, Caffeine Anhydrous, and Alpha-GPC among its listed ingredients. The label includes multiple stimulant compounds and cholinergic ingredients in a single capsule. The stimulant content per serving is higher than the other four products on this list, based on the ingredient panel. This is the only product in the 2026 ranking that lists DMHA on its label. For comparison against other stimulant-based pre-workout and focus products, see our C4 vs Gold Standard comparison.

  • Key Listed Ingredients: DMHA (2-Aminoisoheptane), Caffeine Anhydrous, Alpha-GPC, L-Theanine, Huperzine A. The label lists multiple stimulant sources in one formula.
  • Format: Capsules per bottle. Standard once-daily or as-needed dosing per label instructions. The manufacturer recommends against exceeding the labeled dose.
  • Stimulant Status: Contains multiple stimulants including DMHA and Caffeine. This is the highest-stimulant product in the ranking by label analysis. For a non-caffeine supplement comparison, see non-caffeine supplements guide.
  • Label Warning: The product label advises against use by individuals sensitive to stimulants, and recommends consulting a healthcare professional before use. This is printed directly on the packaging.

The Nitro Boost Analogy

Most nootropics on this list are fuel injectors. They tune the engine. Infinite Focus RX is a nitrous oxide canister bolted to the intake manifold. It is not for daily driving. The label lists DMHA and multiple stimulants. The manufacturer recommends against exceeding the labeled dose. Read the panel. Know what you are taking. This is a high-stimulant product by ingredient disclosure.

PPO Lab Brain‑Fx: The Multi-Ingredient Formula

PPO Lab Brain‑Fx bottle, a comprehensive multi-ingredient nootropic blend
PPO Lab Brain‑Fx: 18 ingredients listed on the label across multiple categories in a single capsule.

PPO Lab Brain‑Fx lists 18 ingredients on its label, making it the highest ingredient-count product in this ranking. The panel includes Alpha-GPC, Caffeine, L-Theanine, Bacopa monnieri, Rhodiola rosea, Huperzine A, and multiple B-vitamins. Ingredients span stimulants, herbal extracts, amino acids, and vitamins in a single capsule. The label groups ingredients into categories but does not disclose individual doses for every compound due to the use of a proprietary blend for some portions of the formula. For a clean, short-label approach to supplements generally, see our best Thorne supplements for athletes guide.

  • Listed Ingredient Categories: The label organizes ingredients into groupings that include cholinergic compounds, herbal extracts, amino acids, stimulants, B-vitamins, and antioxidants. Total ingredient count is 18.
  • Format: Capsules. Standard daily dose per label instructions.
  • Transparency Note: A portion of the formula uses a proprietary blend, which means individual ingredient doses within that blend are not disclosed on the label. Some standalone ingredients like Caffeine and B-vitamins have their doses listed individually.
  • Who Manufactures It: PPO Lab, a supplement brand producing multi-ingredient formulas. The product ships as a single-bottle purchase.

EC Sports Brain Boost: The Two-Ingredient Formula

EC Sports Brain Boost bottle, a minimalist two-ingredient nootropic formula
EC Sports Brain Boost: two ingredients on the label. CDP-Choline (500mg) and L-Theanine (400mg). No proprietary blends.

EC Sports Brain Boost is the shortest-label product in this ranking, listing exactly two ingredients: CDP-Choline (Citicoline) at 500mg and L-Theanine at 400mg per serving. No proprietary blends. No stimulants. No herbal extracts. No fillers listed. The label transparency is the highest in the ranking by ingredient-count simplicity. This is a two-ingredient capsule sold as a daily supplement. For a similarly transparent approach to daily wellness, see our Nutricost Multivitamin review.

  • Complete Ingredient List: Citicoline (CDP-Choline, 500mg), L-Theanine (400mg). That is the entire panel. Vegetable capsule and rice flour as excipients.
  • Format: Capsules. Label recommends two capsules per serving to deliver the full 500mg/400mg dose.
  • Stimulant Status: Caffeine-free. No stimulants on the label. Can be taken alongside coffee or tea without overlapping stimulant sources. For stacking ideas with pre-workout products, see best pre-workout categories.
  • Transparency: Both ingredient doses are printed clearly on the Supplement Facts panel. No blends. No hidden doses. This is the most transparent label in the ranking by the objective metric of fully disclosed doses per ingredient.
  • Price Position: The lowest cost per serving among the five products compared in this ranking, based on published Amazon pricing as of 2026.

The Two-Tool Workbench Analogy

Most supplement brands give you a 40-piece tool kit. Half the tools are the wrong size. A quarter are duplicates. EC Sports Brain Boost gives you two tools: a hammer and a screwdriver. Both are the right size. Both do exactly what the label says they do. You can build things with two tools. You can also buy more tools later and stack them yourself. This is a two-piece starter set. Not a full workshop. The label tells you exactly what you are getting.

Head-to-Head: All Five Nootropics Compared (2026)

Each product has a different balance of ingredient count, dose transparency, stimulant content, format, and price. No single product leads every column.

Product Format Ingredient Count Stimulants? Proprietary Blend? Notable Feature
Gaia Herbs PRO Liquid dropper 4 listed herbs No Yes (extract ratios not fully disclosed) Full-spectrum liquid herbal extracts
Thesis Starter Kit Capsule packets 5-10 per blend Varies (Energy blend: yes) No 4 distinct blends in one box
Infinite Focus RX Capsules Multiple stimulants + cholinergics Yes (DMHA, Caffeine) Partial Highest stimulant content on this list
PPO Lab Brain‑Fx Capsules 18 listed Yes (Caffeine) Yes (partial formula) Highest ingredient count on this list
EC Sports Brain Boost Capsules 2 No No Shortest label. Doses fully disclosed.

EC Sports Brain Boost wins on label transparency. Two ingredients, both doses printed. No blends. Gaia Herbs PRO wins on format differentiation with its liquid dropper. Thesis Starter Kit wins on variety with four blends per box. Infinite Focus RX has the highest stimulant content per label. PPO Lab Brain‑Fx has the most ingredients. No single product wins every column. The right pick depends on which label characteristic the buyer weights highest. For related mushroom-based cognitive supplements, see Genius Mushrooms review and Real Mushrooms Lion’s Mane review. For a broader guide on mushroom supplement specs, see mushroom spec guide.

Nootropics FAQ

What is a nootropic supplement?
A nootropic is a dietary supplement product whose label typically lists ingredients such as amino acids, herbal extracts, vitamins, and/or stimulants. The category is broad and unregulated beyond standard FDA dietary supplement requirements. Individual products vary widely in ingredient composition, dose, and format. This article compares labels, not outcomes.
How are these five products different from each other?
They differ by ingredient count (from 2 to 18), stimulant content (from caffeine-free to DMHA-containing), format (liquid dropper, capsules, individual packets), and dose transparency (fully disclosed doses versus partial proprietary blends). The comparison table above maps each product against these four variables.
Which nootropic has the most transparent label?
EC Sports Brain Boost lists two ingredients with both doses fully disclosed: Citicoline 500mg and L-Theanine 400mg. No proprietary blends. No hidden doses. This is the shortest and most transparent label among the five products compared here.
Which nootropic has the highest stimulant content?
Infinite Focus RX lists DMHA and Caffeine Anhydrous on its label, making it the highest-stimulant product in this ranking by ingredient disclosure. The manufacturer recommends against exceeding the labeled dose. This is a high-stimulant product.
Are nootropics regulated by the FDA?
Dietary supplements, including products marketed as nootropics, are regulated by the FDA under the Dietary Supplement Health and Education Act (DSHEA). They do not require pre-market approval. Manufacturers are responsible for label accuracy and product safety. Statements about supplements have not been evaluated by the FDA. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.
Should I consult a professional before taking a nootropic?
Yes. Consult a qualified healthcare professional before starting any new dietary supplement, particularly if you take medication, have a pre-existing health condition, are sensitive to stimulants, or are pregnant or nursing. This is especially relevant for products containing stimulants like caffeine and DMHA. For more on clean supplement sourcing, see best Thorne supplements for athletes.

Final Verdict

For label transparency, EC Sports Brain Boost is the clearest product in the 2026 nootropics ranking with two fully disclosed ingredients and zero proprietary blends. For format variety, Thesis Starter Kit offers four distinct blend panels in one box. For herbal extraction methodology, Gaia Herbs PRO uses a liquid glycerin-based format with full-spectrum herbs. For stimulant content, Infinite Focus RX lists the highest stimulant load per label. For ingredient volume, PPO Lab Brain‑Fx lists 18 ingredients, the most of any product compared here.

These five products represent different approaches to the cognitive supplement category. One is a two-ingredient capsule. One is a liquid herbal extract. One is a four-blend sample kit. One is a high-stimulant formula. One is an 18-ingredient multi-pathway capsule. The label tells you what is in the bottle. Pick the label that matches what you are looking for. Consult a qualified professional before use. For a broader view of daily wellness supplements, explore our Garden of Life Vitamin Code Men review and Nature Made Multi for Him review.

Verdict: Pick the Label That Matches Your Preference

EC Sports Brain Boost for label transparency. Thesis for variety. Gaia for herbal liquid. Infinite Focus RX for stimulant content. PPO Lab for ingredient volume. Five products. Five different labels. No single winner.

Related Cognitive Supplement Guides


Keep Building