The Thesis Starter Kit packs four separate nootropic formulas (Clarity, Logic, Energy, and Confidence) into four 30-capsule bottles inside one box. Each bottle carries a different ingredient list. The system is not a single blend. It is a trial kit. We broke down every ingredient on every label and mapped the cost, the protocol, and how this kit stacks against single-formula competitors.

Overview: What’s Inside the Thesis Starter Kit
The Thesis Starter Kit contains four separate 30-capsule bottles of nootropic supplements manufactured by Thesis. Each bottle has a different label. Each label lists a different set of ingredients. The kit is a sampler. You run each formula individually, log the response, then decide which one or two bottles to reorder. This is not a proprietary blend. It is four isolated formulas in one box.
- Clarity: Label lists Lion’s Mane mushroom, CDP Choline (Citicoline), Panax Ginseng, Alpha-GPC, 7,8-DHF, Epicatechin, L-Theanine, and Zembrin (Sceletium tortuosum extract). 11 total ingredients listed on the supplement facts panel.
- Logic: Label lists Choline Bitartrate, L-Theanine, and Artemisinin among its active ingredients.
- Energy: Label lists N-acetyl-L-tyrosine, Choline, Dynamine (Methylliberine), and Theacrine.
- Confidence: Label lists Zembrin (Sceletium tortuosum), L-Theanine, Saffron extract, and Ashwagandha.
The Kit Cost: The Starter Kit runs roughly $119 to $135 on Amazon for 24 servings (6 per formula). That works out to approximately $5.00 to $5.60 per serving. Individual full-size bottles cost less per serving when reordered. For a single-formula nootropic comparison, see our Onnit Alpha Brain review. For a mushroom-only alternative, see Genius Mushrooms review.
The Test-Drive Analogy
Buying a one-size-fits-all nootropic is like buying a car without a test drive. You pay full price. You hope the seat fits. The Thesis Starter Kit hands you four sets of keys. Drive each one for a week. Log the mileage. Then buy the car. You pay more per mile during the test drive. You avoid buying the wrong vehicle outright.
The Four Formulas: Ingredients on Each Label
1. Clarity: 11 Ingredients on the Supplement Facts Panel
The Clarity bottle lists Lion’s Mane mushroom, CDP Choline (Citicoline), Alpha-GPC, Panax Ginseng, 7,8-DHF, Epicatechin, L-Theanine, and Zembrin among its 11 total ingredients. Zembrin is a patented Sceletium tortuosum extract. The label does not disclose exact milligram amounts per ingredient. The total blend is proprietary by weight.
Capsule Count: 30 capsules per bottle. Serving size is 2 capsules. That yields 15 servings per bottle. In the Starter Kit, you get roughly 6 servings of Clarity. For a deeper look at Lion’s Mane specifically, see our Real Mushrooms Lion’s Mane review and the mushroom spec guide.
2. Logic: Choline and Theanine Forward
The Logic bottle lists Choline Bitartrate, L-Theanine, and Artemisinin as primary active ingredients on the label. Choline Bitartrate is a choline salt. L-Theanine is an amino acid compound found in tea leaves. Artemisinin is derived from Artemisia annua (sweet wormwood). The formula lists fewer total ingredients than Clarity.
Capsule Count: 30 capsules per bottle. 2 capsules per serving. 15 servings per full bottle. Roughly 6 servings in the Starter Kit allocation.
3. Energy: Dynamine, Theacrine, and N-Acetyl-L-Tyrosine
The Energy bottle lists Dynamine (Methylliberine), Theacrine, N-acetyl-L-tyrosine, and Choline on its supplement facts panel. N-acetyl-L-tyrosine is an amino acid derivative. This is the only formula in the kit that lists Dynamine and Theacrine on the label. The other three formulas do not list these compounds. No caffeine is listed on the standard label composition.
Capsule Count: 30 capsules per bottle. 2 capsules per serving. 15 servings per full bottle.
4. Confidence: Zembrin, Saffron, Ashwagandha, and L-Theanine
The Confidence bottle lists Zembrin (Sceletuim tortuosum extract), Saffron extract, Ashwagandha, and L-Theanine on its ingredient label. Zembrin is a standardized Sceletium tortuosum extract. Saffron is a spice-derived extract. Ashwagandha is an herb root extract. L-Theanine is an amino acid compound. No Dynamine, Theacrine, or caffeine appear on this label.
Capsule Count: 30 capsules per bottle. 2 capsules per serving. 15 servings per full bottle. For a standalone herb extract alternative, see our Bronson Rhodiola Rosea review.
The Personalization Protocol: How the Kit Is Designed to Be Used
The Thesis Starter Kit ships with a usage guide that instructs buyers to run each formula individually for 5 to 7 days before stacking any two together. The kit is structured as a 4-to-6-week trial. The guide recommends logging daily notes on energy, focus, and mood using a 1-to-10 scale. The goal is to identify which one or two formulas match the individual’s response, then reorder full-size bottles of those specific formulas.
- Weeks 1-4: The Isolation Phase. Pick one formula. Take it at the same time daily for 5 to 7 consecutive days. Log the response in a notebook. Do not combine formulas during this phase.
- Weeks 5-6: The Stacking Phase. Based on the notes, try pairing two formulas. Common label-pairs in the kit’s documentation are Clarity plus Energy and Logic plus Confidence. The kit guide advises against mixing more than two at once.
- Ongoing: Reorder the full-size bottles of the formulas that logged the best response. Use the other formulas situationally.
The Logbook Is the Product. Without written notes, the kit is four bottles of capsules. The personalization value sits in the log, not the capsule. Skip the log. Waste the kit.
The Four-Coffee-Sampler Analogy
You walk into a coffee roaster. They hand you four single-origin beans. You brew each one separately. You taste. You take notes. You buy a full bag of the one that hits. You do not blend all four beans into one pot on day one. That defeats the entire point of the sampler. The Thesis Kit is the same logic applied to nootropic capsules. One at a time. Notes. Then decide.
Thesis Starter Kit: The Honest Trade-off
The Thesis Starter Kit offers four isolated formula labels inside a single-box trial system. The trade-off is a premium cost per serving against the elimination of single-blend guesswork.
Pros
- Four Isolated Labels: Not one proprietary blend. Four separate supplement facts panels.
- No Caffeine in Three Formulas: Clarity, Logic, and Confidence do not list Dynamine, Theacrine, or caffeine on their labels. Only Energy lists Dynamine and Theacrine.
- Zembrin and Saffron: Patented and standardized extracts listed on Clarity and Confidence labels.
- Trial System: 6 servings per formula. Enough data to log a response before committing to a full bottle.
- Vegan Capsules: Listed as vegan and non-GMO on the packaging.
- Stacking Optional: Reorder only the formulas that match the log. Skip the ones that do not.
Cons
- ~$5.00 to $5.60 per Serving: Roughly 2x to 3x the cost of single-formula competitors like Onnit Alpha Brain.
- Proprietary Blends: Exact milligram amounts per ingredient are not disclosed. The formula is listed by total weight.
- 6 Servings Per Formula: The trial window is short. Some users may want more data before deciding.
- Logbook Dependency: The system requires daily note-taking. Without it, the kit is just four bottles of capsules.
- No Third-Party Certification Listed: Thesis states on their website that they test for microorganisms. No NSF, USP, or Informed Sport certification appears on the label.
Who the Thesis Starter Kit Is For (and Not For)
The Thesis Starter Kit matches a specific buyer profile: someone who logs supplement response data, wants formula-level choice, and will pay a premium for the trial model.
Good Fit
- Supplement buyers who keep a response log
- People who have tried single-blend nootropics and want a formula-level trial
- Buyers with variable daily demands (focus Monday, social ease Tuesday)
- Anyone who wants no caffeine in a nootropic (Clarity, Logic, Confidence)
- Shoppers who prefer standardized extracts like Zembrin and Saffron on the label
Not the Best Fit
- Buyers who want a single daily pill with zero logging (see Genius Mushrooms vs Alpha Brain)
- Cost-per-serving purists under $2 per dose
- Anyone who wants exact milligram transparency per ingredient
- Shoppers who need NSF or Informed Sport certification on the label
- People who want a mushroom-only formula (see Genius Mushrooms review)
Formula Comparison: Thesis Starter Kit Side by Side
Each Thesis formula has a different ingredient list, a different ingredient count, and a different compound class profile on the label.
| Formula | Key Label Ingredients | Ingredient Count | Dynamine/Theacrine Listed? | Standardized Extracts |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Clarity | Lion’s Mane, CDP Choline, Alpha-GPC, Panax Ginseng, 7,8-DHF, Epicatechin, L-Theanine, Zembrin | 11 | No | Zembrin |
| Logic | Choline Bitartrate, L-Theanine, Artemisinin | Fewer than Clarity | No | None listed |
| Energy | Dynamine, Theacrine, N-acetyl-L-tyrosine, Choline | Fewer than Clarity | Yes | None listed |
| Confidence | Zembrin, Saffron extract, Ashwagandha, L-Theanine | Fewer than Clarity | No | Zembrin, Saffron |
How Thesis Compares to Single-Formula Nootropics
Thesis competes on formula-level choice and the trial-kit model. Onnit Alpha Brain competes on brand recognition and single-formula simplicity. Genius Mushrooms competes on mushroom-only purity.
| Product | Formula Model | Key Differentiator | Est. Cost/Serving |
|---|---|---|---|
| Thesis Starter Kit | 4-bottle trial kit | Formula-level choice. Zembrin and Saffron on label. | ~$5.00-$5.60 |
| Onnit Alpha Brain | Single formula | Cat’s Claw, Bacopa, Alpha-GPC. Single bottle. See full Alpha Brain review | ~$1.80-$2.30 |
| Genius Mushrooms | Single mushroom blend | Lion’s Mane, Cordyceps, Reishi only. No added compounds. See full Genius Mushrooms review | ~$0.80-$1.20 |
| Real Mushrooms Lion’s Mane | Single extract | Pure Lion’s Mane fruiting body extract. One ingredient. See Real Mushrooms Lion’s Mane review | ~$0.60-$1.00 |
Thesis owns the “formula choice” column. No other nootropic kit on Amazon ships four separate bottles with four different labels in one box. Onnit Alpha Brain wins on cost. Genius Mushrooms wins on ingredient-count minimalism. Real Mushrooms wins on single-extract purity. For a broader nootropic category breakdown, see our Genius Mushrooms vs Alpha Brain comparison and the non-caffeine supplements guide.
Thesis Starter Kit FAQ
- How many servings are in the Thesis Starter Kit?
- 24 total servings. Four bottles. 30 capsules each. Serving size is 2 capsules. That means 15 servings per full bottle, but the Starter Kit allocates roughly 6 servings per formula. Enough to run each formula individually for one workweek.
- What is the difference between Clarity and Logic?
- The Clarity label lists 11 ingredients including Lion’s Mane, CDP Choline, Alpha-GPC, Panax Ginseng, 7,8-DHF, and Zembrin. The Logic label lists fewer ingredients centered on Choline Bitartrate, L-Theanine, and Artemisinin. Clarity has a broader ingredient panel. Logic is a leaner choline-plus-theanine formula on the label.
- Does the Energy formula contain caffeine?
- The standard Energy label lists Dynamine (Methylliberine) and Theacrine. It does not list caffeine on the standard ingredient panel. Check the specific batch label to confirm, as formulations can change.
- How does Thesis compare to Alpha Brain?
- Thesis is a 4-bottle trial kit with formula-level choice. Onnit Alpha Brain is a single bottle with one formula. Thesis costs roughly 2x to 3x more per serving. Thesis uses Zembrin and Saffron. Alpha Brain uses Cat’s Claw and Bacopa. For the full Alpha Brain breakdown, see our Onnit Alpha Brain review.
- Are the ingredient amounts listed on the label?
- The supplement facts panel lists the total blend weight. Exact milligram amounts per individual ingredient are not disclosed. The formula uses a proprietary blend structure.
- Is the Thesis Starter Kit third-party tested?
- Thesis states on their website that they test for microorganisms, heavy metals, and potency. No NSF Certified for Sport, USP, or Informed Sport certification appears on the label. Verify the specific batch and product page for the most current certification status.
Final Verdict
The Thesis Starter Kit is a four-formula nootropic trial system built for the supplement buyer who logs individual responses and wants formula-level choice before committing to a full bottle. It costs ~$5.00 to $5.60 per serving during the trial phase. That is a premium over single-formula competitors. The value sits in the trial model, not the per-serving cost. Four labels. Four ingredient panels. One box.
The kit is the right buy for the data-driven supplement user who keeps a log and wants to isolate which compounds match their response. It is the wrong buy for anyone who wants a single daily capsule with zero logging, or who needs NSF/USP certification on the label, or who wants exact milligram-per-ingredient transparency.
For the mushroom-only buyer: skip Thesis entirely. Buy a standalone Lion’s Mane extract from Real Mushrooms or a mushroom blend from Genius. For the single-formula buyer: Onnit Alpha Brain costs less per serving and requires zero logging. For the trial-kit buyer who wants four labels in one box and is willing to keep notes: the Thesis Starter Kit is the only product on Amazon built for exactly that use case.
This is a label-analysis review. It covers what is printed on each bottle, how the kit is structured, what it costs, and how it stacks against single-formula competitors on ingredient-panel merit. Nothing in this article makes claims about what any of these compounds do inside the body. Read the label. Log the response. Make the call.
Verdict: Four Formulas, One Box, One Logbook
Clarity, Logic, Energy, and Confidence. 24 servings total. ~$5.00 per serving during the trial. The Thesis Starter Kit is the only four-label nootropic sampler on Amazon. Worth it if you log your response. Skip it if you want a single pill and zero notes.
Related Nootropic and Supplement Guides
- Onnit Alpha Brain Review
- Genius Mushrooms Review
- Genius Mushrooms vs Alpha Brain
- Real Mushrooms Lion’s Mane Review
- Mushroom Supplement Spec Guide
- Non-Caffeine Supplements Guide
- Bronson Rhodiola Rosea Review
- Double Wood Lion’s Mane Review
