REDCON1 Total War vs Transparent Labs Bulk: Label Spec

REDCON1 Total War and Transparent Labs Bulk both sit in the high-potency pre-workout category, yet diverge on three structural decisions: caffeine load (350mg multi-source vs. 230mg pure), beta-alanine grams (2,000mg vs. 4,000mg), and label architecture (proprietary blend vs. fully disclosed). One product prints every milligram on the Supplement Facts panel. The other wraps its stimulant matrix in a blend that prevents ingredient-level auditing. We pulled both labels to show exactly what is in each scoop and what is hidden behind a blend wall.

Disclosure: This article contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases at no extra cost to you.
Note: Ingredient amounts per scoop vary by lot and flavor. Always check the Supplement Facts panel on the live listing before purchase. This article compares published product specifications only. Statements have not been evaluated by the FDA. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.
REDCON1 Total War vs Transparent Labs Bulk pre-workout supplement facts comparison

Head-to-Head Spec Sheet: Total War vs. Bulk, Ingredient by Ingredient

Both products list caffeine, beta-alanine, a citrulline source, and Alpha-GPC on their Supplement Facts panels. The divergence is in the amounts per scoop, the presence or absence of additional stimulants, and whether every ingredient carries its own milligram count or sits inside a proprietary blend.

Spec REDCON1 Total War Transparent Labs Bulk
Caffeine per Scoop 350 mg (multi-source, partially within proprietary blend) ~230 mg (pure caffeine, line-item listed)
Additional Stimulants Dynamine, TeaCrine (amounts undisclosed, within blend) None
Beta-Alanine 2,000 mg 4,000 mg
Citrulline Source Citrulline Malate 6,000 mg (2:1 ratio typical; ~4,000mg citrulline, ~2,000mg malic acid) L-Citrulline 6,000 mg (pure, no malic acid carrier)
Alpha-GPC 300 mg 300 mg
L-Tyrosine 1,500 mg Not listed on label
Label Architecture Proprietary blend (stimulant matrix undisclosed) Fully disclosed (every ingredient listed by milligram)
Third-Party Certification Not listed on label Informed Choice certified

The proprietary blend is the headline differentiator on the label. Total War lists caffeine at 350mg but groups Dynamine and TeaCrine inside a proprietary stimulant matrix where individual amounts are not disclosed. You know the total blend weight. You do not know how much of each compound you are swallowing. Bulk lists every ingredient on its own line with its own milligram count. No blends. No lump sums hiding individual doses.

A proprietary blend on a pre-workout label is like a cocktail bar that serves you “The House Mix” with no ingredient list. It might have top-shelf spirits. It might have well liquor and tap water. The bartender knows. You do not. Bulk hands you the recipe card. Total War hands you the drink and asks you to trust the pour.

The Stimulant Architecture: Multi-Source Caffeine Stack vs. Single-Source Pure Caffeine

Total War lists 350mg of caffeine from multiple sources alongside Dynamine (methylliberine) and TeaCrine (theacrine), two additional stimulant compounds grouped within a proprietary energy blend. The total blend weight is disclosed. The individual amounts of Dynamine and TeaCrine are not. Bulk lists approximately 230mg of pure caffeine as the sole stimulant source, line-item disclosed with no additional stimulant compounds on the label.

  • Total War Caffeine Load: 350mg from multiple caffeine sources. Listed on the Supplement Facts panel. Roughly equivalent to three and a half cups of brewed coffee in one scoop.
  • Bulk Caffeine Load: ~230mg pure caffeine. Line-item disclosed. Roughly equivalent to two and a quarter cups of brewed coffee.
  • Total War Additional Stimulants: Dynamine and TeaCrine listed by name within a proprietary energy blend. Individual milligram amounts not disclosed on the label.
  • Bulk Additional Stimulants: None listed on the Supplement Facts panel.

The 120mg caffeine difference between these two products is the spec gap between a high-stimulant formula and a moderate-stimulant formula. Total War’s label is built for the buyer with a high caffeine tolerance who wants multiple stimulant sources. Bulk’s label is built for the buyer who wants a single, disclosed stimulant amount and nothing else.

Choosing between these two based on caffeine content is like choosing between a triple espresso and a double americano. Both are coffee. Both deliver caffeine. One just delivers more of it, faster, from more angles, with a few extra compounds the barista won’t tell you the exact amount of. The double americano tells you how many grams of beans went into the portafilter. The triple espresso asks you to trust the blend.

The Performance Ingredients: Beta-Alanine, Citrulline, and the 2,000mg Gap

Both labels list beta-alanine and a citrulline source, but the amounts and forms differ in ways that change the per-scoop payload.

  • Beta-Alanine: Bulk lists 4,000mg per scoop. Total War lists 2,000mg. That is a 2,000mg difference on the Supplement Facts panel. Same ingredient. Double the amount per scoop in Bulk.
  • Citrulline Form: Total War uses citrulline malate at 6,000mg, which is typically a 2:1 ratio of citrulline to malic acid, yielding roughly 4,000mg of actual citrulline per scoop. Bulk uses L-citrulline at 6,000mg, which is pure citrulline with no malic acid carrier. Different forms. Similar net citrulline payload at different label line items.
  • Alpha-GPC: Both labels list 300mg. No difference on this ingredient.
  • L-Tyrosine: Total War lists 1,500mg on its Supplement Facts panel. Bulk does not list L-tyrosine as an ingredient. This is a line item that appears on one label and not the other.

The beta-alanine gap is the largest per-ingredient spec difference between the two products. Bulk lists double the amount per scoop. Whether that per-scoop difference matters depends on how many scoops you take and what other beta-alanine sources appear in your supplement stack. See creatine beta-alanine stacking for context on how beta-alanine fits into a broader pre-workout formulation.

Who Each Pre-Workout Fits, Based on the Label

Match the label specs to your buying criteria. These two products target different buyers based on caffeine tolerance, label transparency preferences, and beta-alanine dosing priorities.

  • The High-Stimulant Buyer: REDCON1 Total War lists 350mg of caffeine plus Dynamine and TeaCrine. If 200mg pre-workouts feel like flavored water to you, this label is built for your tolerance level. The trade-off is the proprietary blend that hides individual Dynamine and TeaCrine amounts.
  • The Label Transparency Buyer: Transparent Labs Bulk lists every ingredient with its own milligram count. No proprietary blends anywhere on the Supplement Facts panel. If you audit supplement labels before buying, Bulk is the only one of the two that lets you verify every line item. Also carries Informed Choice certification, which Total War does not.
  • The Beta-Alanine Buyer: Bulk lists 4,000mg of beta-alanine per scoop versus Total War’s 2,000mg. If beta-alanine grams per serving is a buying criterion, the Supplement Facts panel on Bulk doubles Total War on this ingredient.
  • The Multi-Stimulant Buyer: Total War is the only one of the two that lists Dynamine and TeaCrine on the label. If you want more than caffeine in your stimulant profile, Total War has the additional compounds. If you want caffeine and nothing else, Bulk has the simpler label.
  • The Budget-Conscious Buyer: Both sit in the premium pre-workout price tier. Cost per scoop varies by retailer and tub size. Compare the price divided by servings per container on the current listing. See best pre-workout categories for options across price tiers. For another high-stimulant alternative, see Gorilla Mode pre-workout. For a moderate-stimulant option, see Cellucor C4 Original.

REDCON1 Total War vs. Transparent Labs Bulk: Pros and Cons, from the Supplement Facts Panel

REDCON1 Total War — What’s on the Label

  • 350mg Caffeine per Scoop: The highest single-ingredient caffeine amount between the two products. Listed on the Supplement Facts panel.
  • Dynamine + TeaCrine: Two additional stimulant compounds listed by name within the proprietary energy blend. Not found on Bulk’s label.
  • 1,500mg L-Tyrosine: A listed ingredient at a specified amount. Absent from Bulk’s Supplement Facts panel.
  • Citrulline Malate 6,000mg: A disclosed amount using the malate-bound form of citrulline.
  • Alpha-GPC 300mg: Listed at the same amount as Bulk.

REDCON1 Total War — Label Trade-offs

  • Proprietary Stimulant Blend: Dynamine and TeaCrine amounts are not individually disclosed. You see the blend total. You do not see the per-compound breakdown.
  • Beta-Alanine at 2,000mg: Half the amount listed on Bulk’s label for the same ingredient.
  • No Third-Party Certification Mark: No Informed Choice, NSF, or USP mark appears on the standard label.
  • High Caffeine Load: 350mg per scoop may exceed the tolerance range for buyers sensitive to stimulants.

Transparent Labs Bulk — What’s on the Label

  • Fully Disclosed Label: Every ingredient listed with its own milligram count. Zero proprietary blends anywhere on the Supplement Facts panel.
  • 4,000mg Beta-Alanine: Double the amount listed on Total War’s label for the same ingredient.
  • L-Citrulline 6,000mg: Pure citrulline form, no malic acid carrier. Listed as L-Citrulline, not Citrulline Malate.
  • Informed Choice Certified: Third-party certification mark appears on the packaging. Tested for substances banned in sport.
  • ~230mg Pure Caffeine: Single-source caffeine, line-item disclosed with no additional stimulant compounds.

Transparent Labs Bulk — Label Trade-offs

  • Moderate Caffeine Load: ~230mg per scoop. May register as underpowered for buyers accustomed to 350mg+ pre-workout formulas.
  • No Additional Stimulants: Caffeine is the only stimulant compound on the label. No Dynamine. No TeaCrine. No synephrine.
  • No L-Tyrosine: Not listed on the Supplement Facts panel. Total War lists 1,500mg of this ingredient.
  • No Betaine or Taurine: Some competing pre-workout labels include these additional compounds. Bulk does not list them.

Pre-Workout Label FAQ: Caffeine, Beta-Alanine, and Proprietary Blends

How significant is the 120mg caffeine difference between these two labels?
It is a spec difference of 120mg. Total War lists 350mg of caffeine per scoop. Bulk lists approximately 230mg. That is roughly one additional cup of coffee worth of caffeine in every scoop of Total War. Total War also lists Dynamine and TeaCrine as additional stimulant compounds. Bulk does not list any additional stimulants. The difference is not just the caffeine number. It is whether the label includes other stimulant compounds at all.
Does the beta-alanine amount difference between labels matter?
Bulk lists 4,000mg of beta-alanine per scoop. Total War lists 2,000mg. That is a 2,000mg per-scoop difference on the Supplement Facts panel for the same ingredient. If your buying decision weights beta-alanine grams per serving, Bulk provides more of this ingredient in one scoop. Total War’s 2,000mg per scoop means two scoops would be needed to match the beta-alanine in one scoop of Bulk, though that would also double the caffeine to 700mg.
What is the difference between Citrulline Malate and L-Citrulline on a label?
Citrulline Malate is citrulline bound to malic acid, typically at a 2:1 ratio. A label listing 6,000mg of citrulline malate delivers roughly 4,000mg of actual citrulline. L-Citrulline is pure citrulline with no carrier. A label listing 6,000mg of L-citrulline delivers 6,000mg of citrulline. Same ingredient family. Different label math. Total War uses the malate-bound form. Bulk uses the pure form.
What does the proprietary blend on Total War hide?
Total War’s Supplement Facts panel groups Dynamine and TeaCrine inside a proprietary energy blend. The total blend weight is listed. The individual milligram amounts of Dynamine and TeaCrine are not. You know the sum. You do not know the parts. This is a legal labeling structure under FDA supplement regulations, not a violation. It is also the primary transparency difference between these two products.
Can you stack these two pre-workouts?
The labels do not recommend or prohibit stacking. If you combined one scoop of each, you would ingest roughly 580mg of caffeine plus Dynamine, TeaCrine, 6,000mg of beta-alanine, and approximately 12,000mg of combined citrulline sources. That caffeine load exceeds 500mg per serving, which is above the amount listed on most single-scoop pre-workout labels. Read both Supplement Facts panels before combining.

Total War vs. Bulk Final Verdict: The Label Architecture Is the Decision Point

Both products list caffeine, beta-alanine, a citrulline source, and Alpha-GPC on their Supplement Facts panels. REDCON1 Total War leads on caffeine load (350mg), stimulant variety (Dynamine + TeaCrine), and L-tyrosine inclusion (1,500mg), with a proprietary blend that prevents full ingredient-level auditing. Transparent Labs Bulk leads on beta-alanine per scoop (4,000mg), label transparency (no proprietary blends), citrulline form (pure L-citrulline), and third-party certification (Informed Choice). Neither product is defective. Both are different answers to the same two questions: how much caffeine do you want per scoop, and do you want to see every milligram on the label.

Verdict: High-Stimulant Blend vs. Fully Disclosed Label

350mg caffeine + Dynamine + TeaCrine + proprietary blend (Total War). 230mg caffeine + 4,000mg beta-alanine + full disclosure + Informed Choice (Bulk). Pick the label that matches your stimulant tolerance and your transparency requirements.

*Prices, formulations, and ingredient amounts per scoop subject to change. Verify the Supplement Facts panel on the live listing before purchase. Statements have not been evaluated by the FDA. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.

The Pre-Workout Label Lexicon: Terms on the Supplement Facts Panel

Proprietary Blend
A labeling structure where multiple ingredients are grouped under a single name with a combined weight and no individual milligram amounts. Legal. Common on pre-workout labels. Prevents the buyer from verifying the dose of any single ingredient inside the blend. Total War uses this structure for its stimulant matrix. Bulk does not.
Dynamine (Methylliberine)
A purine alkaloid listed as a stimulant ingredient on some pre-workout labels. Structurally related to caffeine. Appears on Total War’s label within the proprietary energy blend. Individual milligram amount not disclosed.
TeaCrine (Theacrine)
A purine alkaloid listed as a stimulant ingredient. Structurally similar to caffeine. Appears on Total War’s label within the proprietary energy blend. Individual milligram amount not disclosed.
Citrulline Malate
A compound of citrulline bound to malic acid, typically at a 2:1 ratio. A label listing 6,000mg of citrulline malate contains roughly 4,000mg of citrulline and 2,000mg of malic acid. Listed on Total War’s Supplement Facts panel. Different from pure L-Citrulline in ingredient weight math.
L-Citrulline
A pure amino acid listed with no carrier compound. A label listing 6,000mg of L-citrulline delivers 6,000mg of citrulline. Listed on Bulk’s Supplement Facts panel. Different from Citrulline Malate in form and per-gram citrulline yield.
Informed Choice Certification
A third-party certification mark administered by LGC, indicating the product has been tested for substances prohibited in sport. Appears on Bulk’s packaging. Does not appear on Total War’s standard label. Relevant for athletes subject to drug testing protocols.

Keep Reading: Pre-Workout & Supplement Spec Comparisons

Keep Building